An Introduction

As part of a social media module, Becky Quealy and Chris Reddin had to create, promote, and develop a blog of their choosing. Below, the two first year New Media and English students give an insight as to how they ended up in the University of Limerick, what they hope to achieve from their studies, and the manner in which they will contribute to “From the Courtyard”

Becky

So my name is Becky Quealy and I’m a 19-year-old student from Cashel in Co. Tipperary. When I was younger reading was always had a big part of my life, my mom and dad were always encouraging me and my brother to read books like The Wind in The Willows and Harry Potter. I am now studying New Media and English in the University of Limerick. I chose this course due to my love for English and my huge interest in the media. I’m not quite sure yet what I want career I want after college but at the moment I am loving my course so I’m sure it will all work out for the best. Chris and I met during orientation and have grown to become great friends!  In this blog Chris and I will talk about all aspects of college life, from the social side of things as well as learning to live with on a strict budget. Hope you get as much enjoyment out of reading this blog as we did making it!

Chris

I’m Chris Reddin, a 19-year-old student from Birr in County Offaly. From a young age, I have had a love of English, as well as an interest in media, particularly in the creation of video. These interests led to my choosing New Media and English in the University of Limerick for my undergraduate degree. I have found the course to be quite interesting so far, helping me develop a range of skills both in media and in English. Becky and I are friends from the first day of orientation, with this social media module giving me the welcome opportunity to work with her. I look forward to the learning process ahead and to the development of this blog.

Leave a Reply

